A weight lifted like no other.

“The mark of a mature man is a certain scar he bears: the memory of a perfect ‘someone’ never won, or of a once-true love forever lost. How ever much he may pour his heart into another, he is only there because the ‘lost’ is not.” Unknown.

I was forgiven. While not direct, they passed on a message that they were very grateful for what I had done and that they really hated the way events were reacted to by others, wishing things had gone far smoother. Part of me hopes, 1 day, that we could once again meet up and know that we could have a fantastic friendship, albeit distant. Another part of me hopes they’ll come to me in a time of crisis. Another part just hopes they sail on into the distance until I become nought but a spec on an infinite horizon.

That’s not to say I won’t miss them. Far from it; I miss them more than I thought it possible to miss someone. Several years ago, 6 months after a long term relationship had been broken up, I was content and happy, looking for someone else to be part of my life. Yet here I am over a year later, as if it had only happened yesterday. It amazes me that you can find people in this world that you can form such a close bond to, and the effects it has on a person.

~ by minotaur41 on 2012/07/24.

Leave a Reply

 
